Home > Top universities in Australia and New Zealand to compete in NI robotics competition

Top universities in Australia and New Zealand to compete in NI robotics competition

Supplier News
Organised by National Instruments Aust & NZ , the Autonomous Robotics Competition final will be held in Melbourne on 21 September.
Themed ‘Search and Rescue’, the NI Autonomous Robotics Competition has more than 20 student teams from leading universities across Australia and New Zealand busy preparing to pass the third milestone in the lead-up to the final, which challenges entrants to build an autonomous robot to function in a simulated search and rescue environment. All teams are required to successfully achieve four milestone tasks with the help of NI engineers in the lead-up to the competition to ensure they are prepared to meet the technical requirements to compete in the final.
In the live final of the competition, each robot will have to navigate an arena littered with obstacles and identify, pick up and move objects to designated locations in the shortest time possible. This year’s competition will focus on the areas of navigation, obstacle avoidance and object handling.
Participating teams have each received a development kit featuring an NI CompactRIO embedded acquisition and control platform and an NI LabVIEW graphical system design software package.
According to Matej Krajnc, Managing Director for National Instruments Oceania, the competition is an exciting platform both for engineering students to showcase their creative and technical skills as they delve into the world of robotics, and for universities to build their position in this important space.
The winner of the NI Autonomous Robotics Competition will receive a prize of $3000, with $1500 for the runner-up and a bonus prize of $500 for the most aesthetically pleasing robot. All teams that successfully complete the completion get to keep the development kit, valued at over $27,000.
The competition final will be held at Swinburne University of Technology Hawthorn campus, whose student team won the inaugural event last year.
Universities competing in the competition include Macquarie University (NSW), University of New South Wales (NSW), TAFE NSW (NSW), University of Technology Sydney (NSW), University of Wollongong (NSW), Curtin University (WA), Griffith University (QLD), Queensland University of Technology (QLD), Charles Darwin University (NT), RMIT (VIC), Swinburne University of Technology (VIC), University of South Australia (SA) University of Tasmania (TAS), University of Auckland (NZ), Auckland University of Technology (NZ), University of Canterbury (NZ), Massey University (NZ) and Victoria University of Wellington (NZ).

Newsletter sign-up

The latest products and news delivered to your inbox