Home > Industry’s hall of fame expands

Industry’s hall of fame expands

Supplier News

VICTORIA’S minister for manufacturing and export, Tim Holding, inducted nine new companies into the Victorian Manufacturing Hall of Fame in May, and added two more names to the Hall’s Honour Roll, namely Ernest Dawes, founder and chairman of SGE International, and Richard Pratt global chief executive of Visy Industries.

Holding also presented the inaugural Young Manufacturer of the Year Award to Scott Grinter, launch manager with seatbelt and airbag manufacturer, Autoliv.

Lifetime recognition for exceptional services to the Victorian manufacturing industry were also given to Bob Herbert former chief executive of the Australian Industry Group and to Greg Sword, former general secretary of the National Union of Workers and long-time member of the ACTU executive.

The nine manufacturing hall of fame inductees were: AME Systems, a major Australian-owned supplier of electrical harnesses and associated equipment to many industries at both a first and second tier level; Athlegen, a manufacturer and distributor of ergonomically advanced treatment tables and related equipment; Creative Cabinets, a manufacturer of kitchen and domestic furniture in Australian timbers; Gekko Systems , a designer of mining equipment, much of which is exported; Gippsland Aeronautics, who currently produces 20 to 25 aircraft per year; INC Corp, a developer and manufacturer of advanced fabric products; Lochard, producer of noise and flight track monitoring equipment; Melba Industries, a manufacturer of technical textiles for use in the automotive, industrial and seating sectors; and Olex Australia, Australia’s largest manufacturer of power and data cables.

Newsletter sign-up

The latest products and news delivered to your inbox