Home > International Mining's Technology Hall of Fame winners

International Mining's Technology Hall of Fame winners

article image

A large gathering of industry executives from around the world sat down to dinner in the Grand Salon of the Grand America Hotel, Salt Lake City, in the US to witness the celebration of the first inductees into the International Mining Technology Hall of Fame.

Following a drinks reception sponsored by Boart Longyear, Preston Chiaro, Rio Tinto Group Executive Technology and Innovation, shown in the picture, opened the official proceedings.

IM editor Paul Moore and Rio Tinto  Head of Innovation John McGagh read out the citations and presented the awards to 12 inductees or their representatives.

It was particularly pleasing to have two family groups at the event. Terry Mudder, inducted for Environmental Management and Stewardship, was supported by five members of his family, and four daughters of the late Dr James J Scott the man behind the Split Set rock stabliser) collected his Underground Support award.

They are Deborah Castle, Wendy Carter, Polly Scott-Showalter and Amy Sansotta.

Redpath Mining presented the Safety award to Matt Eichinger of Mine Safety Appliances representing John T. Ryan Sr and George H Deike Sr, the founders of his company. Sandvik Mining presented the Outstanding Innovator award to David George, Chief Advisor, Processing, Technology and Innovation at Rio Tinto.

Guests had flown in from places as far afield as Australia, Canada, Finland, the UK and more for the US based event.

Australian inductees included Jeff Whittle, Professor Alban Lynch, and Professor Graeme Jameson.

The complete proceedings and details of the inductees  will be published in a special supplement in the May issue of International Mining.

All shortlisted 2013 nominees will roll over to the 2014 inductions, which will be presented at a gala event early in 2015 – dates and location to be advised very soon. New nominations are now being accepted.

Why the International Mining Technology Hall of Fame?

We have been asked this question by a number of newspapers around the world wishing to celebrate their local hero, who was inducted on February 22.

In my life alone (John Chadwick) in the industry (I am a mining engineer by qualification) there have been many very important innovations/technology developments that have massively changed the industry in terms of productivity and safety.

Before that too there were many decades of such breakthrough developments.

Many of those remain unrecognised and we felt it was time to start redressing the situation.

It will take many years to catch up and recognise the innovators of this great industry that is so crucial to the modern world.

It is also the first truly International hall of fame in the industry – the first, 2013, inductions include Americans, Australians, South Africans, Finns, Swedes and Canadians.

As yet there are no British (my home country), German, or Polish inductees, for example, but there are many of them deserving of recognition. I urge you to nominate for this year, see the website for details.

Be aware that a well presented nomination – who, the technology, what it achieved, etc. is important in standing a chance of selection.

The International Technology Mining Hall of Fame will become better known each year and we will be able to revel in greater numbers of nominations each year.

I would love to see all the people that I think worthy of recognition inducted before I go, but it is not up to me, it is up to the international panel of judges I have assembled around the world. It is up to the industry at large to nominate and those judges to decide.

Newsletter sign-up

The latest products and news delivered to your inbox